Our Executive Committee

Dr Tamar Black: Founder and President

Tamar Black
Tamar is an Educational and Developmental Psychologist who is employed as a school psychologist and in private practice. She is a fellow of the Australian Psychological Society’s College of Educational and Developmental Psychologists. Tamar completed a Doctor of Philosophy comparing the effectiveness of Acceptance and Commitment Therapy and Cognitive Behavioural Therapy for enhancing adolescent mental health within school curricula. She founded the Society in 2014 after registering with the Australian Temporal Bone Bank as a temporal bone donor. She is a keen supporter of the Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital, having raised $11,000 for the Hospital’s Balance Disorders and Ataxia Service, which led to the development of a balance disorders portal on the website of the Eye and Ear Hospital. She has also conducted a toy and book drive for the Hospital’s Cochlear Implant Clinic and patient waiting areas.

Professor Stephen O’Leary

Stephen is an Ear, Nose and Throat Surgeon, and co-director of the Australian Temporal Bone Bank. He holds the William Gibson Chair of Otolaryngology at The University of Melbourne, and has worked as both a surgeon and a medical researcher at The University of Melbourne and the Royal Victorian Eye and Ear Hospital since 1999. Stephen holds an honorary appointment with the Bionic Ear Institute, and is on the Board of the Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons. Stephen is recognized internationally for his clinical and research activities in ear disease, hearing and balance, and particularly for contributions to cochlear implantation. He was elected to the Collegium Otorhinolaryngologicum Amitciae Sacrum in 2006 in recognition of his contributions to Otolaryngology, and was recipient of the 2009 John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons for excellence in surgical research.

Dr Luke Chen

Luke is a Neurologist and Neuro-Otologist who is the head of the Balance Disorders Clinic at Alfred Health. He is a Consultant Neurologist at Sydney Neurology (Brain and Mind Centre, University of Sydney) and North Shore Vertigo and Neurology Clinic. Luke holds the position of Visiting Medical Officer in Neurology at St George Hospital, and Conjoint Lecturer at University of New South Wales Medicine (St George and Sutherland Clinical School).  His Doctor of Philosophy thesis examined quantitative abnormalities affecting the connecting balance pathways between the inner ear and the brain in neurological conditions such as acute stroke, multiple sclerosis and neuro-degenerative diseases. He was the recipient of the inaugural Young Scientist Award at the 29th Bárány Society Meeting in Seoul, Korea in 2016.

Ms Edwina Marshall

Edwina is an experienced lawyer currently in the role of General Counsel at a not for profit quasi–government organisation that operates in the education sector. Her main areas of expertise are intellectual property, contracts, corporate law, governance, government authorities and the not-for-profit sector. Edwina holds a Bachelor of Laws, a Master of Laws and a Bachelor of Science (Hons), and is a member of the Law Institute of Victoria and the Australian Corporate Lawyers Association.

Mr David Treger: Vice-President and Treasurer

David is an accountant, with over 25 years experience as an executive in finance, audit and management roles, including CFO/CEO. David has substantial retail exposure in the healthcare, fashion, toy, and food industries. He is strategically minded and solutions focussed, and is a pragmatic, collaborative leader. He values  communication, teamwork, and is passionate about helping others. David is involved with a number of sporting and community based organizations and is an avid sportsman and supporter.